Main Street Champions Include Brevard And Hendersonville Honorees

Warning: Information you find on this page may be outdated or incorrect.

North Carolina Main Street Champions were recently recognized for their commitment to downtown improvements and strong communities during a recognition ceremony in Salisbury.

Forty-three individuals received honors for contributions to their Main Street programs and downtown districts in 2018. This year’s group of Main Street Champions brings the total number to 721 that have been recognized by the North Carolina Department of Commerce over the past 19 years.

“Every city and town needs a Champion – someone that will step up and invest time and money in the community, improve the quality of life and grow economic vibrancy throughout the state. Commerce is so pleased, each year, to recognize those individuals that are making a difference in their communities,” said Anthony M.Copeland, N.C. Secretary of Commerce.

“The key to the success of the local Main Street program is its people, those individuals that that take extraordinary pride in their downtown revitalization initiatives and the vitality of their community and are willing to go the extra mile for success. Those individuals have earned the title ‘Main Street Champion’. They are local elected officials and staff, community leaders, downtown business owners and employees, and program volunteers. They give 110% and then ask, what’s next?”, said Liz Parham, director of the N.C. Main Street & Rural Planning Center.

2019 North Carolina Main Street Champions

Jackie Cornell – Aberdeen
Kent Harkey – Albemarle
Al Platt – Brevard
Elon University Downtown Innovation Group – Burlington
Sherry D. Bingham – Cherryville
Downtown Dash Committee – Clinton
Diane Young – Concord
Faye and Terry Shelton – Eden
Mark and Theresa Thesier – Edenton
Thomas and Tabitha Reese – Elizabeth City
Elon Public Works Department – Elon
Sam and Maggie Cantor – Forest City
Jonathan and Maggie Pierce – Fuquay-Varina
Bethany Mohr – Goldsboro
John Connet – Hendersonville
Hertford Rotary Club – Hertford
Connie Kincaid – Hickory
Tony Sears – Kinston
Downtown Lenoir Main Street Volunteers – Lenoir
Lee Hinkle – Lexington
Beth Davis – Marion
Denise Hendrix – Mocksville
David Miller – Mooresville
Chrissy Suralik – Morehead City
Keith Suttles – Morganton
Phil Marsh – Mount Airy
Department of Public Works – New Bern
City of Newton Parks and Recreation Department Employees – Newton
George Smith – North Wilkesboro
Lisa Gingue – Oxford
Ginny Brooks – Reidsville
City of Roanoke Rapids Public Works Department Staff – Roanoke Rapids
James Benjamin Braddock – Rocky Mount
Chief Kenneth Torain and the Roxboro Fire Department – Roxboro
Gianni Moscardini – Salisbury
Buck Harris – Sanford
Cliff and Angela Franklin of Uptown Indigo; Travis & Stacey Walker of Greenbrook Design; Staff of Uptown Indigo and Greenbrook Design – Shelby
Town of Smithfield Public Works Department – Smithfield
Liz Petree – Statesville
Spruce Pine Town Council – Spruce Pine
Beau Menetre and Kirk Gollwitzer- Tryon
Vivian A. Jones – Wake Forest
Kenneth Hill – Wilson