15th Annual Hendersonville Community Theatre Barnie Award Winners Announced

Warning: Information you find on this page may be outdated or incorrect.

Hendersonville Community Theatre recently announced the winners of the 15th Annual Barnie Awards during a ceremony at the Mountain Lodge and Convention Center in Flat Rock. Artistic Director Colby Coren hosted this year’s show. One hundred actors, volunteers, and members attended.

HCT’s staff, board and familiar faces presented and performed, including Sage Albert, Facilities Director Tate Albert, Jaylan Brinson, Development Director McKenzie Eury, Executive Producer Jonathan Forrester, Board Member Laresa Griffin, Alexander Guazzo, Operations Director Janice Guazzo, President Chuck Kelsey, Managing Director Victoria Lamberth, Board Member Lisa McCarthy, Casting Coordinator Jennifer Memolo, Bob Pompeo, Technical Director Bob Reece and Charlene Spinks.

Long-time member and Box Office Manager Sue Kamerick and Executive Producer Beth Bristol presented actor and volunteer Henry Styron with the Spotlight Award for outstanding service to HCT. Leslie Jean Newell was honored with the Lifetime Membership Award, making her an HCT member and giving her free season tickets for her lifetime.

Originally established in 2004, the Hendersonville Community Theatre presented their first Barnie Awards in January 2004 for the 2003 season. Each year, the festive gala honors thespians, producers, directors, and theater lovers for their work the previous season.

Hendersonville Community Theatre is celebrating its 53rd season as Hendersonville’s official community theater.  HCT provides an inviting and nurturing environment, as well as high-quality, affordable entertainment, for the residents of Hendersonville and surrounding areas.

Hendersonville Community Theatre is located at 229 South Washington Street. To get involved, contact HCT at 828-692-1082 or online at HendersonvilleTheatre.org.


The 15th Annual Barnie Award winners are:


Best Overall Production

Hairspray Jr.


People’s Choice Award

Hairspray Jr.


Best Director

Colby Coren, Tasha Pepi and Lenora Thom, Hairspray Jr.


Best Leading Actor in a Comedy or Drama

Rick Huhn, Weller Martin, The Gin Game


Best Leading Actor in a Musical

Craig Conner, Nathan Detroit, Guys and Dolls


Best Actress in a Comedy or Drama

Shari Azar, Margaret, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof


Best Leading Actress in a Musical

Celia Butterworth, Tracy Turnblad, Hairspray Jr.


Best Actress in a Junior Production

Chloe Ostman, Motormouth Maybelle, Hairspray Jr.


Best Actor in a Junior Production

Alexander Guazzo, Edna Turnblad, Hairspray Jr.


Best Youth Actor or Actress in a Regular Production

Claire Estes, Gowdee/Soma, The Love Talker/A Ghost Story

Jayna Gerber, The Redhead, The Love Talker


Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy or Drama

Nancy Colangione, Big Mama, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof


Best Supporting Actress in a Musical

Madeline Johnson, Benny Southstreet, Guys and Dolls


Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy or Drama

David Mycoff, Big Daddy, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof


Best Supporting Actor in a Musical

Colby Coren, Nicely Nicely Johnson, Guys and Dolls


Best Set Design/Dressing

Bobby Foster and Jonathan Forrester, Rumors


Best Lightning Design

Pat Durako, Hairspray Jr.


Best Costumes

Kathleen Henby and Janice Guazzo, Hairspray Jr.


Best Choreography

Molly Carlin-Folk and Jonathan Forrester, Hairspray Jr.


Best Stage Manager

Beth Bristol, Nuncrackers